Highline Public Schools
15675 Ambaum Blvd. SW Burien, WA 98166

Office Hours:

Monday-Friday: 7:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Tyee High School
Olympic Interim Site 615 South 200th Street Des Moines, WA 98198

You Are About To Leave the Tyee High School Website

You are now leaving the Highline website and will be redirected to a third-party application or website. This site may have advertisements or other content not necessarily endorsed or approved by Highline Public Schools. 

And the 2023 Gold Star Nominees Are...

And the 2023 Gold Star Nominees Are...

It's time to celebrate the 2023 Gold Star Nominees! The Highline Schools Foundation announced this year's Gold Star Awards nominees. Winners will be revealed at the Gold Star BASH on Wednesday, March 8. 

This year's list of impressive nominees includes well-deserving teachers, staff, administrators and volunteers nominated by their peers and coworkers, parents and students.

Gold Star Nominees

Outstanding Administrator

  • Alex Haas, Principal – McMicken Heights Elementary
  • Corbin Busby, Principal – Hilltop Elementary
  • Jessica Ma, Principal – Highline Virtual Elementary
  • Jodi Robertson, Assistant Principal – McMicken Heights Elementary
  • Kevin Takisaki, Principal – New Start High School
  • Kim Moshier, Assistant Principal – Bow Lake Elementary
  • Lolita O’Donnell, Director of Family & Community Partnerships – Student Support & Family Engagement
  • Qaseem Mohammed Moqadem, Maintanence Supervisor – Facilities
  • Robin Totten, Principal – Gregory Heights Elementary
  • Simón Iniguez, Principal – Evergreen High School
  • Sunny Sinco, Assistant Principal – Cascade Middle School

Outstanding Classified Staff

  • Ana Lopez, Paraeducator – Gregory Heights Elementary
  • Brandon Kitts, Bus Driver – Transportation
  • Cindy French, Office Support – Facilities
  • Daniela Laureano Francisco, Bilingual/ELL Paraeducator – Tyee High School
  • Ellis Webb, Paraeducator – Shorewood Elementary
  • Emina Jazvin, Custodian – Bow Lake Elementary
  • Fatma Guled, Paraeducator – Chinook Middle School
  • Heather Shropshire, ILC Paraeducator – Bow Lake Elementary
  • Jennifer Straight, Bus Driver – Transportation
  • Kaylee Nation, Paraeducator – Bow Lake Elementary
  • Kelsey Gomez, Attendance Specialist – Puget Sound Skills Center
  • Kristine (Kris) Gonzalez, School Library Assistant – Hilltop Elementary
  • Ladonna Fay McNeil, Office Manager – Marvista Elementary
  • Michelle Baus, Paraeducator – Bow Lake Elementary
  • Sally Moncrief, Paraeducator – Bow Lake Elementary
  • Scott Villa, Bilingual Paraeducator – McMicken Heights Elementary
  • Valerie Inklebarger, ELL Tutor – Shorewood Elementary
  • Vicki Treakle, Office Manager – Shorewood Elementary

Outstanding Professional Staff

  • Anne Marie Littleton, Social Worker – New Start High School & CHOICE Academy
  • Carolyn Zike, School Counselor – Seahurst Elementary
  • Jonas Buck, Counselor – Pacific Middle School
  • Larcy Amorelle, Physical Therapy – Occupational and Physical Therapy
  • Ryan Bunda, School Counselor – McMicken Heights Elementary

Outstanding Volunteer

  • Ana Majia, Volunteer – Mount View Elementary
  • Melissa Ebbeson, PTA/Volunteer – Highline Public Schools
  • Patricia Palomino, Volunteer – Gregory Heights/Highline Public Schools

Outstanding Rookie Teacher

  • Chloe Bell, Teacher – CHOICE Academy
  • Gared Contawe, Music Teacher – Bow Lake Elementary
  • Mona Planesi, Criminal Justice Teacher – Puget Sound Skills Center
  • Sarah Brown, ILC Intermediate Teacher – Hazel Valley Elementary

Outstanding Teacher

  • Andreas Haugen, Teacher – Cedarhurst Elementary
  • Andy Brune, Teacher – Bow Lake Elementary
  • Anh Nguyen, Special Education Teacher – Chinook Middle School
  • Benjamin Taylor, Music Teacher – Hilltop Elementary
  • Beverly Pecoraro, Humanities Teacher – Maritime High School
  • Cooper Johnson, Teacher – Marvista Elementary
  • DaSol Lim, Teacher – Cedarhurst Elementary
  • Elise Dupre, Teacher – Gregory Heights Elementary
  • Eric Owen, LRC Teacher – Hilltop Elementary
  • Erin Enquist, Dual Language Teacher – Mount View Elementary
  • Hoang Pham, Teacher – Chinook Middle School
  • Jill Hadji, Dean of Students – Chinook Middle School
  • Joanna Rodriguez, STEM Teacher – Maritime High School
  • Joe Bourgeois, Teacher – Sylvester Middle School
  • Josie Painter, Teacher – Bow Lake Elementary
  • Karen Montes-Gasga, Teacher – Hilltop Elementary
  • Marlene Samayoa, Teacher – Beverly Park Elementary
  • Mohamad Shibly, Teacher – Evergreen High School
  • Nancy Shi, Instructional Coach/SBI Facilitator – McMicken Heights
  • Rodney Olsen, Music Teacher – Des Moines Elementary
  • Shoshanna Cohen, Teacher – White Center Heights Elementary
  • William Calarese, Teacher – Gregory Heights Elementary
  • Yamilet Rios, Spanish Teacher/Advisory – Chinook Middle School

Gold Star Awards BASH!

Help the Foundation honor and celebrate all nominees at the 2023 Gold Star BASH! Winners will also be announced at the event. 

Date: Wednesday, March 8

Time:  Doors open at 5:30 p.m. Program from 6:00 to 7:00 p.m.

Location: Burien Community Center, 14700 6th Ave SW, Burien


Tickets are $25 and includes one drink ticket, appetizers and dessert. Purchase your ticket online.
Due to venue restrictions, tickets will not be available at the door, so preregistration is necessary.

Get more details on the Gold Star Awards, Nominees, and the Gold Star Bash on the Foundation website